Harry Potter and The Cursed Child..

Cursed-Child-official-book-cover-banner-center-850x490

WARNING POTENTIAL SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK!

Excuse me, hi

So I bought the play yesterday and read it in a 4 hours (with breaks), which is probably the fastest I’ve ever read a book. But that is because it’s Harry Potter and I loved it! Even though it wasn’t actually written by J.K. Rowling, it still felt like a Harry Potter story.

I loved reading about the new generation, especially Scorpius Malfoy. I liked that he wasn’t written to be like Draco has been, but instead a lot nicer and smarter. Not that I don’t love Draco, I think I loved him more after this play. I think that is because he was in it more and we got see how much his character has grown since the war. Albus was a great character and it was nice to see his complicated relationship with Harry. Also I loved how they found a way to bring Snape back into it!! But the part that had me sobbing was Hagrid meeting baby Harry. Hagrid has been and will always be one of my favourite characters in the Harry Potter story.

Also can we talk about that twist as well! I thought it was a really clever way to make Voldemort relevant with this new generation, but without actually bringing him back. The only thing that annoyed me about that was that she was Bellatrix’s daughter. This messes with the timing of the other Harry Potter books, where if she was her daughter, Bellatrix would have been pregnant just before the war and that wasn’t shown.Another thing I didn’t like was how they have now shown Ron’s character. He was sidelined a lot in the play and it didn’t feel like Ron’s character.

But overall I loved it! I loved having another Harry Potter story to read and I am sad that this probably the last one!

Let me know what you think of it if you have read it!

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

